36 Comments
Nov 16, 2020Liked by Jarrod Kimber

A bit late on this, but I'm a massive fan of your work. The Aubrey Faulkner piece has already been mentioned in the comments, but I would also like to add these articles:

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/_/id/21581424/jarrod-kimber-day-father-watched-garry-sobers-make-254-252-mcg

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/_/id/22036649/growing-ricky-ponting

https://www.thecricketmonthly.com/story/920605/wild-thing

My favourite bit about your writing is the fact that you do come across much more as a fan than a journalist, the 'fans with laptop' bit really does come through. You also do a very good job of humanizing the players in your articles.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2020Liked by Jarrod Kimber

Hi Jarrod,

Love all the work you do, though I like the one you did about your grandmother, or mother (sorry, I didn't remember immediately!) who inspired you to read. It was a while back on Medium.

The other one I liked was this one - https://www.thecricketmonthly.com/story/1118422/the-shahid-afridi-of-kansas

I really liked it!

Love the way you write and all the stuff you do!

Expand full comment

The recent piece on Neil Wagner was fantastic, Jarrod!

Expand full comment

Some of the day by day cricket withballs episodes would be great to dredge up now and then

Expand full comment

The Aubrey Faulkner and Ugly Australians pieces stand out in my memory:

The former because he lived an interesting life, but also because those stories are often dry and historical and this piece brought him to life.

The latter because it brought the personal to bear on something very topical.

On a non-cricketing front, the Greg Norman piece.

Test Cricket: The Unauthorised Biography was a good read.

More recently I've enjoyed the substack pieces that combine data with conventional story-telling, like the all-rounders post, and John Reid - which gave me a good understanding of his impact.

I'm sure there are others, but those stick out.

Expand full comment
AnonymousNov 11, 2020

My favorite piece of yours is ‘George Who?’ on George Bailey from back in 2014. The piece made my cry and have often gone back to it.

Expand full comment

You are the best sports writer ever.

I used to read cricketwithballs.com all the time. Especially articles on Ashes 13 and 13-14 were just so good.

One of my favorite pieces from you was: "the beast from pretoria" over AB.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/_/id/26151476/ab-de-villiers-beast-pretoria

Expand full comment

Anything you've written on Ryan Harris, and also the piece on Azhar Ali from August this year

Expand full comment

"Where did Harris find the swing and strength?" is one I still come back to time and again. "The Land of the Bat" is another that springs to mind.

Expand full comment

Hi,

I wish I had time to read all your pieces as I've enjoyed all of them so far. My favourite was probably on Neil Wagner and his unlikely success in the game.

Expand full comment

Hi,

The piece on Fawad Alam stands out because in his 12 year career, it was the 1st time someone actually gave a semi-decent reason of why he hasn't been selected i.e. batting in the lower middle order.

https://wickets.substack.com/p/fawad-alam-and-his-numbers

Expand full comment

The piece on Pankaj Singh (cricinfo) is one I find myself returning to fairly regularly. It summarised the human condition all too nicely. Loved the way you forensically went went through his history, loved the way you detail the trails and tribulations he faced that day but really loved the humanity of the piece. Don’t know why but I return to this piece rather too frequently.

Expand full comment

The piece on reverse swing and 'Alex Carey finds a way' stick out to me

Expand full comment

Mate, I loved the piece/ match summary you had written on Mithali Raj when India lost to Eng in ODI WWC final, as well as match summary on Ind vs Pak match in Champions trophy round 1 . Like your witty style of writing and humor which is rare in sports journalism. Funny at the same time informative and intriguing.

Expand full comment

Hi Jarrod, Love your writing and you're one of my favorite sports writers!

I know you said 'especially those not on Cricinfo', but I couldn't help myself. Here are two (of many, many more) that I love:

1. http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/941979.html

2. https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/_/id/27126281/you-try-never-pakistan-pakistan

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment